Non classé

The 4 main stages of severity of lipoedema

The various evolution stages of lipoedema can be defined in four stages. If the condition is not treated, lipoedema will progressively worsen:

I: Smooth skin surface, soft to palpation, uniform thickening of the hypodermis.
II: Irregular skin surface, orange peel appearance, sensation of nodules on palpation
III: Hard skin surface, increased volume, deformed limbs aspect, functional discomfort
IV: lipo-lymphoedema
It is important not to confuse lipoedema and lymphoedema: lymphoedema is a mass of lymph and not of fat.

There are several signs that help to differentiate between these two pathologies:

After passing stage III, lipoedema can evolve into lipo-lymphoedema (stage IV): a disorder of lymphatic flow is added to lipoedema, leading to an accumulation of lymph in the tissues.

To find out more about lipoedema click here

To find out more about the 5 types of lipoedema click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *